Special Election 2022


The City of Florence will be holding a special municipal election on Tuesday, August 2, 2022, for the purpose of electing six persons to the City Council, two from each of the City’s three wards.

This election will be conducted as a polling place election and will be held at the Emergent Campus Gymnasium, 215 N. Maple St.  The polling location will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. for electors to vote in person.

To vote in this special municipal election, a person must reside within the corporate boundaries of the City of Florence and be a registered elector.  To register to vote, go to www.GoVoteColorado.com

Persons can vote for not more than two candidates who are running from the ward in which the voter resides.

A person unable to vote at the polls on election day may contact the City Clerk’s office and request an absentee ballot application form.  Upon completion and receipt of the written application form, a ballot will be provided.  To be counted, the voted ballot must be returned in the supplied envelope with the affidavit on the back of the envelope signed and dated no later than 7:00 p.m. on August 2.  The absentee ballot can be returned by mail or in person to the City Clerk’s office 600 W 3rd Street, Florence, Colorado 81226 no later than August 1 and in person at the polling location on August 2 by 7:00 p.m.


Ward 1

        James Vanhoutan (73)

        Rudl Mergelman (89)

        Kevin Bradley (26)

        Anthony Puckett (24)

Ward 2

        Matthew Stiefel (54)

        Steve Wolfe (109)

        Eric Hatfield (53)

        Kathryn Johanna Nabors (63)

Ward 3

        Mike Vendetti (61)

        Gayle MacKinnon (107)

        Deborah Gibson (104)


For further information regarding the August 2, 2022, special municipal election, contact Cortlyne Huppe at (719) 784-4848 x248 or Cortlyne.huppe@florencecolorado.org